关于CCM

浙江大学关联物质研究中心(The Center for Correlated Matter, CCM,以下简称中心)创立于2012年。德国马普学会固体化学物理学名誉主任,重费米子超导发现者Frank Steglich教授成为中心的创始主任,常务副主任袁辉球教授主导了中心的创立工作。作为学校的特殊研究单位,中心目前隶属于浙江大学理学部,其目标是成为国内、国际上在关联物质研究,尤其是重费米子研究上有影响力的研究机构。

中心专注于关联物质体系前沿科学研究。目前的主要研究兴趣包括重费米子物理学、非传统超导、量子相变、近藤晶格与混价行为、自旋液体与莫特绝缘体等。中心既可以生长及研究新材料,也可以在极端低温、高压、高磁场条件下测量多种物性,通过理论模型与模拟计算探究材料的复杂性质。为应对关联物质物理学中的诸多挑战,中心的理论及实验工作者紧密联系,共同努力。

中心是一个高度国际化的机构,其教员和博士后来自数个不同国家。目前,中心拥有七名教员:Frank Steglich教授(中心主任,重费米子物理学先驱),张富春教授(国家千人计划),袁辉球教授(中心常务副主任,长江特聘教授),Stefan Kirchner教授、路欣教授(浙江省千人计划)、刘洋教授(国家青年千人计划)、Han-oh Lee教授。此外,中心每年都邀请一些短期或长期访问学者做客。

中心在国际范围内建立起了有效的合作网络。我们是德国德累斯顿马普学会固体化学物理学研究所的伙伴小组。中德推广中心(Sino-German Promotion Center)支持了包括浙江大学关联物质研究中心、奥古斯堡大学电子关联与磁性研究中心、法兰克福歌德大学物理系、清华大学、中科院物理所等组织机构的国际合作,在其促成下,2015年建立起了中德关联物质伙伴小组(Sino-German Cooperation Group on Emergent Correlated Matter)。其他与中心有紧密合作的机构还包括美国洛斯阿拉莫斯国家实验室、莱斯大学、罗格斯大学、伊利诺伊大学香槟分校、布鲁克海文国家实验室、佛罗里达州立大学、加州大学尔湾分校、德克萨斯大学达拉斯分校,以及来自德国波恩、英国剑桥、日本东京、韩国首尔等地的大学。

About CCM

The Center for Correlated Matter (CCM) was established in 2012 by Zhejiang University. Prof. Frank Steglich, the discoverer of heavy fermion superconductivity and an Emeritus Director of the Max-Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids in Germany, was appointed as the founding director of the CCM. The director'’s work is assisted Prof. Huiqiu Yuan, who initiated founding of the new center by the university. As a special research unit in the university, the CCM is currently affiliated with the Division of Science. Its mission is to become a competitive center both nationally and internationally, for the study of correlated matter, in particular heavy fermion systems.

The CCM is dedicated to researching at the frontiers of correlated materials. Special attention is paid to the emergent quantum phases and concomitant phenomena, arising from their tunable many-body electron interactions. Current research interests at the center includes heavy fermion physics, unconventional superconductivity, quantum phase transitions, Kondo lattice and mixed - valence behavior, spin liquids and Mott transitions. We synthesize and search for new materials, measure various physical quantities under multiple extreme conditions of low temperatures, high pressure and high magnetic fields using state-of-the-art techniques, and explore their complex properties via theoretical models and numerical simulations. At the center, experimentalists and theorists work closely together to identify, probe and unravel the challenges of correlated matter.

The CCM is a highly international institution, where the faculty members and postdoctoral fellows come from number of different countries. At present, the center has seven faculty members: Prof. Frank Steglich (director and pioneer of heavy fermion physics), Prof. Fuchun Zhang (awardee of the National Thousand Talent Program), Prof. Huiqiu Yuan (executive deputy director and Chang-Jiang Scholar professor), Prof. Stefan Kirchner and Prof. Xin Lu (awardees of the Thousand Talent Program of Zhejiang Province), Prof. Yang Liu (awardee of the National Junior Thousand Talent Program) and Prof. Han-oh Lee. In addition, the center hosts a number of short-term and long-term visiting scientists every year.

The CCM has already developed a network of worldwide collaboration. We are a partner group of the Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids at Dresden, Germany. In 2015, a Sino-German Cooperation Group on Emergent Correlated Matter was funded by the Sino-German Promotion Center, which supports international cooperation between the Center for Correlated Matter and the Center for Electronic Correlations and Magnetism at the University of Augsburg, the Institute of Physics at Goethe University in Frankfurt, as well as groups at Peking University and the Institute of Physics, CAS. Other institutions, which have collaborated closely with the center, include Los Alamos National Laboratory, Rice University, Rutgers University, the University of Illinois at Urbana and Champaign, Brookhaven National Laboratory, Florida State University, the University of California at Irvine, the University of Texas at Dallas (USA) as well as the Universities of Bonn (Germany), Cambridge(UK), Tokyo (Japan) and Seoul (Korea).